

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 27, 2017

Contact:
Derek Boese
Chief Administrative and Public Information Officer
504-833-LIFT or 504-286-3100
dboese@slfpae.com

Flood Protection Authority Commission Officers Elected

At its June 2017 meeting, the Board of Commissioners of the Flood Protection Authority elected its officers for the 2017-2018 term beginning July 1st. The Flood Protection Authority is governed by a nine-member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Governor. It is charged with protecting the residents and property on the east bank of the Mississippi River from hurricane and riverine flooding in East Jefferson, Orleans and St. Bernard Parishes.

The newly elected Board officers are Joe Hassinger - President, Rick Luettich - Vice President, Paul Kemp - Secretary and Mark Morgan - Treasurer. Mr. Hassinger states, "This is a great leadership team. We worked together last term to develop and implement many new initiatives that have made the Flood Protection Authority the strongest and most capable it has ever been. We look forward to building on those accomplishments in the coming year."

Joe Hassinger is a director of the Galloway law firm, which is based in New Orleans with ten offices across the United States. Rick Luettich is the director of the University of North Carolina's Institute of Marine Science, who also serves as the Director of the UNC Center for Natural Hazards Resilience. Paul Kemp is the principal of G. Paul Kemp & Associates where he advises clients engaged in restoration of degraded coastal ecosystems and also serves as an adjunct professor at the LSU Center for Coastal, Energy and Environmental Resources. Mark Morgan is a professional engineer and principal of SEMS, Inc., an environmental firm based in Baton Rouge with six offices across the Southeast.

#######