MINUTES OF

THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE FOR THE SOUTHEAST LOUISIANA FLOOD PROTECTION AUTHORITY – EAST

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 15, 2023

The meeting of the Nominating Committee for the Southeast Louisiana Flood Protection Authority – East (FPA) was held on September 15, 2023 in the Corporate meeting room of Laitram, Inc. at 5307 Toler Road, Harahan, Louisiana, after due legal notice of the meeting was sent to each Board member and the news media and posted.

Mr. Lapeyre called the meeting to order at 11:00 am and called the roll and each attendee certified that to the best of their knowledge they represent the organization from which they serve. A quorum was present:

PRESENT:

Jay Lapeyre, Meeting Manager, Council for a Better Louisiana Bruce Thompson, Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana Clare Falcon, LA Geological Survey at LSU Windell Curole, Association of State Floodplain Managers Gary Huntley, National Society of Black Engineers Mead Allison, School of Science and Engineering at Tulane University Jerry Klier, American Society of Civil Engineers Lee Alexander, Louisiana Engineering Society

ABSENT:

Frank Tsai, College of Engineering at LSU Norma Jean Mattei, College of Engineering at UNO Joshua Joseph, College of Engineering and Computer Science at SUBR

SELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:

Mr. Lapeyre called for a motion to select a Committee Chair. Wendell Curole made the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

OPEN POSITIONS:

Mr. Lapeyre went over the matrix of open positions and requirements of each position for the FPA. Mr. Lapeyre also went over the residency requirements and pointed out that it was specific to the individual. When it comes to the professional requirement that can be applied to various slots.

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES:

Mr. Lapeyre then stated that we had an application from Tom Fierke for the East who was a non-resident who had an excellent background. Mr. Lapeyre asked Kelli Chandler to comment on Mr. Fierkes Board attendance and engagement. Ms. Chandler stated that he had only

missed 2 meetings and was a very engaged board member. Windell Curole nominated Tom Fierke for the East Authority. It was seconded by Lee Alexander. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed unanimously.

EXTENSION OF DEADLINE FOR APPLICATIONS

The Committee held discussions about the need to extend the deadline to receive applications until September 15, 2023. Gary Huntley moved to extend the deadline. Bruce Thompson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES

Mr. Lapeyre presented applications for the Jefferson Parish resident opening. Applications were received from Norma Jean Mattei and Mahtab Lodhi. Both applicants qualifications were discussed. Lee Alexander nominated Norma Jean Mattei for the open position. Jerry Klier seconded. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed unanimously.

The meeting was adjourned.