FPA_Board Meetings

The Flood Protection Authority’s Board of Commissioners is composed of nine members appointed by the governor of the State of Louisiana. Nominees are submitted to the governor by a Nominating Committee of qualified professionals that is organized and operated in accordance with LA RS 38:330.1. Each Board appointment is subject to confirmation by the Louisiana State Senate. Board members serve four-year staggered terms.

LA RS 38:330.1states that the Board is to be comprised of 9 members as follows:

1 civil engineer
4 members who are either engineers or professional is related fields such as geotechnical, hydrological, or environmental sciences
2 professionals with at least 10 years’ experience in a field other than engineering
2 at-large members

From these 9 members, the Board must include a single member from each of the following parishes: East Jefferson, Orleans, St. Bernard, and Tangipahoa.